RSS

Reflections of a Graduating Senior

04 May

As the temperature rises, the leaves on the trees start to sprout, and my allergies start kicking up, it signalizes the start of spring, and the end of spring semester.

As I write this, I have five more days of classes and four final exams until my undergraduate degree is done, and I go off into the real world. After thinking that this day would never come, I have caught myself reflecting on my last four years of college.

Have I made some mistakes? You bet. Do I regret some things I did? Of course. Was I able to learn from those mistakes? You bet I did.

Coming into college, I didn’t know what to expect. No parents, freedom, it was a weird feeling.  I didn’t want to get involved, went to class, and did the minimum. It was fun, but not fulfilling.

After freshman year, I had to figure out my roll at school. I decided to get involved in News22, the campus news station. I went to the show, did my job, and that was it. I didn’t want to go back the second semester, thinking “Eh, it wasn’t that fun.” But, after talking to some people, I decided to go back the second semester. I went into it with the mindset “You know what, I am going to get involved.”

It has been uphill from there.

Since then, I have gotten extremely involved, and motivated. I started getting shooting packages, producing the show when the seniors went to Vegas, and doing more jobs in the control room.

That semester motivated into doing more things on and off campus. I started writing for the Campus Lantern, got internships, and made the time here at Eastern worthwhile.

And as someone who is graduating, and going into the real world, I have one piece of advice for you.

Get involved.

I can’t say this enough. Join clubs, do things for the club (don’t just go to the meetings, and go through the motions), and take advantage of this.

As a Communications student, the things I will take with me on my job isn’t the stuff I learned from the classroom. It is the practice I got from being involved in clubs. If you want to be a writer, you can’t be taught how to write. Sure, you can be taught grammar, but you can’t be taught your own voice. You get that from practicing writing. If you want to be a videographer or reporter, people want to see how well you can write, shoot, edit, etc.. The Television production courses here taught you the nuts and bolts, but you can’t be taught how you tell a story through images.

Along with clubs, don’t be afraid of internships. They are amazing things. I have had the excellent opportunity to be able to do three different internships. Were they a lot of work? You bet. But boy did they help me. I was able to get professional experience that I wouldn’t of had the chance to get in the classroom. It will only help me in the future. I had to break out of my shell, but it was worth it.

Once again, it is all about practice.

Whether you are a freshman, or a super-senior, it is never to late. Those clubs are always looking for people to participate. The people in the clubs will be willing to help you. Don’t be shy. It can never hurt to go above and beyond, and perfect your craft.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2011 in Random Thoughts

 

One response to “Reflections of a Graduating Senior

  1. Cathi Langan

    May 25, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Awesome Jeff! You get at as a young adult what it takes some people a lifetime to learn. 🙂

     

Leave a comment